ACR Elects First African American President


New ACR leaders will assume roles at the end of the 2021 Annual Meeting.

For the first time in its nearly 100-year history, the American College of Radiology (ACR) has elected an African American to its highest office. Internationally renowned radiologist and ultrasound expert Beverly G. Coleman, M.D., FACR, was elected during the 2021 Annual Meeting.

Coleman, who is currently the first director of fetal imaging at the Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia Center for Fetal Diagnosis and Treatment, has a long history of leadership with the ACR.

Beverly G. Coleman, M.D., FACR, American College of Radiology president-elect

Credit: ACR

Beverly G. Coleman, M.D., FACR, American College of Radiology president-elect

Credit: ACR

“There is no greater accomplishment in my very lengthy academic radiology career than the ascension to the position of President of the American College of Radiology,” she said. “I am proud to take this historic step, and I look forward to continuing to work with my colleagues at ACR to make radiologic care better for those we serve.”

Previously, Coleman, who is the inaugural holder of the Beverly Gilbert Coleman Endowed Chair in Fetal Imaging, served as chair of the ACR Commission on Ultrasound from 2014 to 2020, and she was also ACR liaison to the American Institute of Ultrasound in Medicine Board of Governors. In addition, she is a member of the American Association of Women Radiologists and is former president of the Society of Radiologists in Ultrasound and was chair of the National Medical Association Section on Radiology and Radiation Oncology.

Coleman will be joined by other newly elected officers when they take on their new positions on May 18. James V. Rawson, M.D. FACR, radiologist vice chair of operations and special projects and director of the Radiology Outcomes Research Institute at Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center, will assume the role of ACR vice president. Amy Kotsenas, M.D., FACR, associate professor of radiology, board-certified neuroradiologist, and clinical informaticist at the Mayo Clinic, will be the new council speaker.

In addition, Dana H. Smetherman, M.D., MPH, MBA, FACR, chair of radiology and associate medical director for the medical specialties at Ochsner Medical Center in New Orleans, will serve a two-year term as secretary treasurer, and Timothy A. Crummy, M.D., FACR, associate medical director of SSM Health St. Mary’s Hospital in Wisconsin and partner in Madison Radiologists, S.C., will also serve a two-year term as ACR Council vice speaker.

For more coverage based on industry expert insights and research, subscribe to the Diagnostic Imaging e-newsletter here.

Related Videos
© 2023 MJH Life Sciences

All rights reserved.